Chris Waller caps stellar season with fourth Bart Cummings Medal

Sydney’s premier trainer Chris Waller came with a late charge to win his fourth Bart Cummings Medal, which was awarded at Rosehill on Saturday.

Racing NSW’s first awards night honoured the metropolitan premiership winners and some of the lower profile members of the racing community but it was the Bart Cummings Medal, which is voted on a 3-2-1 system for every city meeting with double points on Saturday, that was the highlight.

Waller was nine votes behind former Darley head trainer Peter Snowden with two months left in the season but his close finish saw him end on 87 votes to win by 14 votes. Jockey Nash Rawiller was third on 67.

Waller won his fourth consecutive TJ Smith Award for Sydney’s leading trainer after preparing 158.5 winners for the 2013-14 season and also had the BOBS horse for the year in Sense And Reason.
“Chris Waller continues to amaze the industry with his exceptional feats,” Racing NSW chief executive Peter V’landys said. “To win four successive Bart Cummings Medals in an arena littered with some of the best racing talents anywhere in the world is astonishing.”

The Waller stable domination extended to strapper of the year going to George Tucker.

James McDonald took home the George Moore Award for Sydney’s premier jockey after riding 72 city winners for the season, the least by the leading jockey since Athol Mulley in the 1960-61 season.

Sam Clipperton, who rode 27 city winners last season, won his second Theo Green Award for the leading apprentice. He completed his time at the end of the 2013-14 season, finishing with a flourish to outride his claim.

Each of the premiership winners were given a watch from the Australian Turf Club as was Kathy O’Hara for being the leading female jockey for the season.

Racing NSW also recognised Robert Thompson riding his 4000th winner with the Outstanding Performance Award, while retired Sydney starter Billy Dale was given the Extraordinary Services to Racing Award.

Tommy Berry was named NSW Racing Writers’ Personality of the Year, while Phillip McInerney, who works for Todd Howlett’s country stable, was given Dedicated Performance Award.

Final standings for the Bart Cummings Medal:
87 – Chris WALLER
73 – Peter SNOWDEN
67 – Nash RAWILLER
37 – Team HAWKES
35 – James McDONALD
30 – Jason COLLETT